Rusty Griswold (Ed Helms) is an adult and this sort of retelling follows him as he quests into taking his wife Debbie (Christina Applegate) and their two kids to “Wally World”. It is not bad, there are a few chuckles throughout. At several occasions I felt like the scenes had been censored by the MMPA, at least I hoped it was. If not, then it was just really bad scenes. I see now that Vacation (2015) is rated R and not PG-13 as I originally thought, so the latter is the case. Let me explain, there are some scenes which are very “gross” but they don’t seem gross because it’s been severely toned down. At first I thought they made it less graphic because of the rating, but I see now that was not the case. When the little kid kept saying fuck at the end, I was really confused. If this movie was rated R, then why wasn’t it better? I feel like they missed a great opportunity…

mv5bmtuwntm0odmxm15bml5banbnxkftztgwnjm4nzk4nte-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

There are cameos of Chevy Chase and Beverly D’Angelo reprising their roles of Clark and Ellen Griswold. Don’t blink or you’ll miss it. Also, Leslie Mann as Rusty’s sister Audrey.

Should you see this movie? I thought it was funny at times, I giggled. I liked the meta-ness and the chemistry between the family members. It’s worth seeing if nothing better is available, or you just want a light chuckle.

