The Fundamentals of Caring (2016) is a “writer stops writing for personal reasons,  has a new experience and writes again” type of film. Another predictable, sweet little dramedy.

I watched this one before Tallulah (2016) and I think that was a good choice. Mostly just because I liked the latter one better. This one is definitely another feel-good movie. If you can look past all the cliches, it is funny.

Ben Benjamin (Paul Rudd) is a writer who has experienced loss. He becomes a care giver to Trevor (Craig Roberts) and at the end changes his views on life. They go on a road trip to the world’s deepest pit and meet Dot (Selena Gomez) on the way. I don’t think I’ve seen anything that Selena is in but she was pretty good in this. The acting of the whole cast was good.

I recommend it if you like Paul Rudd, cliches, or child stars swearing.

mv5bmta1mjc4odi0nzreqtjeqwpwz15bbwu4mdq3mzawmjkx-_v1_sy1000_cr006751000_al_

 

