On Monday this movie showed up on netflix and I added it to my list. On Wednesday, I started reading a textbook for class and within the first pages, the photojournalist “Weegee” is discussed. I found out this movie is inspired by the life of this person. On Friday I watched it.

Louis Bloom (Jake Gyllenhaal) is a thief who is looking for work. When he discovers that footage of crime scenes and fatal accidents pays, he trades a stolen bike for a police scanner and a video camera. As Lou is a very emotionless person, he gets up close. It turns out he’s very good at it. He hires a helper in ways that demonstrate the cruelty of today’s job market. Lou becomes completely invested and spirals into the dark reals of crime journalism. As he sells his work to almost equally emotionless Nina Romina (Rene Russo), we see the hidden greed behind local tv news.

mv5bmjm5njkzmje5mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwntmzntk4mje-_v1_sy1000_cr006401000_al_

This movie is a commentary on capitalism and a backlash against the news media business. It is a refreshing movie with a lot of meaning behind it.

Nightcrawler (2014) is a thriller for sure. It’s exciting from beginning to end.

Jake Gyllenhaal plays this role very creepily, reminiscent of Donne Darko (2001). At times it feels a little too close, but I think it still works.

I’m trying to think of a movie where a person, most likely a sociopath, orchestrates crimes and gets a kick out of it. Can’t think of any. Only the series Wenthworth (after season 2) comes to mind right now.

I highly recommend this film, the only drawback is maybe the ending. It was a little meh, but it didn’t ruin the movie. I think it probably could have ended a little earlier, this ending seemed like there is a sequel coming and I don’t think that is the case.

