Crying at the movies is a rarity for me. Somehow Lion (2016) got to me. I think movies are best enjoyed when you know nothing about it. That is how I got into this film. All I knew was that Nicole Kidman and the guy from Slumdog Millionaire (2008) was in it. The real star of the movie is the little boy played by Sunny Pawar.

mv5bmja3njkznjg2mf5bml5banbnxkftztgwmdkymzgzmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006811000_al_

Based on a true story, this tearjerker is visually stunning with great acting performances. Some criticism of the movie include Nicole Kidman’s Lucille Ball wig, the advertising of a certain product and the half hour cry-fest where nothing happens towards the end of the movie. I realize the advertising is even on the movie poster, come on now. Couldn’t they at least use a different name for it? Is it going to be relevant 50 years into the future? Who knows. Despite these flaws, this is a brilliant film worth a watch or two.

