Warning: Do not watch Lion (2016) the day before you watch this film. I think I need to watch this film over again to fully get the experience of it. Even though it was tragic and depressing, it didn’t feel as such because of the film I watched the day before. Having that said, Manchester by the Sea (2016) is still a beautiful film. The cinematography is extraordinary, making it visually stunning. It is just really heavy, at times a little too much. What more can possibly go wrong? But then I kept comparing it to Lion, making it seem not as bad. Especially because none of the characters are likable. Again, do not watch these films in succession.

mv5bmtyxmjk0ndg4ml5bml5banbnxkftztgwodcynja5ote-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

My favorite was Michelle Williams as I couldn’t at first tell that it was her. She plays this role brilliantly and I predict at least an Oscar nomination for best supporting actress.  Also, the music was great.

What I didn’t like was the long build up to the actual story. This movie could easily been a little shorter in my opinion and the climax could have been presented a little earlier. The wonder of what was really going on didn’t grab my attention. Didn’t think Casey Affleck was that great either. However, it is a masterpiece despite my few dislikes with it.

